CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Show Us the DATA on Government Spending

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Whoever wins in November, get ready for a yet another post-election round of politicians decrying “wasteful” spending and “inefficient” government programs, as Congress fights over the tens of billions in so-called sequestration budget cuts set to take effect through 2013.

If only they knew what they were talking about. The dirty bipartisan secret on Capitol Hill is that it’s extraordinarily difficult — and in many cases impossible — to get accurate, timely information on the actual flow of federal funds.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Hill.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org