CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Hard Work Should Pay Off

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

We know how to provide opportunities for hard-working Americans to enter and thrive in a prosperous and growing middle class. What happens inside the home, for example, is a critical factor in whether children will be able to someday seize opportunities in our economy to become upwardly mobile. Effective parenting is critically important to giving children a good start on the road to social and economic mobility. At the same time, upward mobility is associated with stable family incomes, which is more common among those with two working parents — increasingly the norm in our society.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The New York Times.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a special series: Middle Class Series

For more from this series, click here