CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

What Former Afghan Leader Rabbani Knew About Pakistan and Peace

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The assassination of former Afghan president Burhanuddin Rabbani last month has deepened the pessimism surrounding Afghanistan’s already stagnating peace process and prospects for future stability. Speculation abounds over who murdered him — the Quetta Shura, the Afghan Taliban organization based in Pakistan; the insurgent Haqqani network, at the direction of its patrons in Pakistan’s intelligence services; or a faction of the insurgency working without official sanction. Rabbani’s assassination follows a number of attacks attributed to Pakistan-sponsored insurgent groups. These incidents have provoked fierce hostility toward Islamabad from both Kabul and Washington, and have raised fears that Afghanistan is lurching toward civil war.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Washington Post.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org