CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

The Arab Spring and Palestine

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Testifying before the U.S. Senate Armed Services Committee in March 2010, then-CENTCOM chief Gen. David Petraeus made headlines by recognizing the continued significance of the Palestinian issue in Middle East affairs. “Insufficient progress toward a comprehensive Middle East peace,” Gen. Petraeus noted in his written statement, is one of the “cross-cutting issues that serve as major drivers of instability, inter-state tensions, and conflict” that “can serve as root causes of instability or as obstacles to security.”

Gen. Petraeus’ analysis of the conflict’s significance, which was shortly affirmed by Defense Secretary Robert Gates, was quickly criticized by a number of pro-Israel conservatives, who insisted that the general had inappropriately overemphasized the importance of the conflict, and its impact on U.S. interests. In a typical response, the Anti-Defamation League’s Abe Foxman insisted that Gen. Petraeus had “simply erred in linking the challenges faced by the US and coalition forces in the region to a solution of the Israeli-Arab conflict.” While Petraeus’ presentation was clearly informed by his recent experiences in the Middle East, his analysis of the issue’s salience was seen by some as simply politically unacceptable.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Near East Quarterly.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org