CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Cancer Never Tasted So Good

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

For decades both the African-American and lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender communities have been marked as “easy targets” by the tobacco industry, particularly menthol cigarette producers. R.J. Reynolds’s own internal marketing plans revealed their sentiments about LGBT people. They labeled a Bay Area marketing campaign targeted at them “Project SCUM.”  Clearly the name alone highlights their contempt for a community that has become hooked on their products at rates that are twice that of the general population.   

Big Tobacco’s “gateway” cigarettes still remain on the market even though we’ve grown up in the era of the “Truth Campaign” and witnessed the millions of dollars Big Tobacco has paid to their victims for decades of deception and fraud.  The consequences are dire, particularly for black and gay youth.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Global Grind.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org