CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Mapping the Sequester

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Léalo en español

Updated 09.03.2013

The sequester has been hurting communities and families throughout the nation. Because of the sequester, more than 650,000 workers in the defense industry will face a 20 percent pay cut for the rest of the summer. These cuts are a significant financial hit to any household. Meanwhile, children are being kicked off their Head Start programs, seniors are losing meal service, and cancer and other medical research programs are facing cuts. The map below gives a snapshot of reports on how communities across the nation are being hit by the sequester.

Do you have a story of how the sequester is impacting your community that doesn’t appear on this map? If so, please email cposner@americanprogress.org with the address where the impact is taking place and a link to a news article, press release, or other source to confirm it.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org