CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Interactive: Measuring Gun Violence Across the 50 States

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

See also: America Under the Gun: A 50-State Analysis of Gun Violence and Its Link to Weak State Gun Laws by Arkadi Gerney, Chelsea Parsons, and Charles Posner

The interactive map below shows a state-by-state survey of 10 measures of gun violence drawn from FBI, ATF, and CDC data. The measures are aggregated to show that states with weak gun laws have higher rates of gun violence, and states with stronger gun laws have lower rates of gun violence.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org