CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Merit Selection and Retention Elections Keep Judges Out of Politics

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The Center for American Progress Action Fund today released “Merit Selection and Retention Elections Keep Judges Out of Politics,” a report describing why merit-selection systems—while imperfect—are a significant step in the right direction of ensuring that we have a judiciary comprising judges who are both well-qualified and more or less immune from political special interests. The CAP Action report argues that merit selection frees a potential judge from political influence by focusing on his or her qualifications, not on the ability to make deals with legislators or rake in campaign contributions. Retention elections subject judges to much less political pressure than contested elections and offer greater judicial independence. The judiciary is the only institution that can remedy violations of the constitution by the other branches of government. If judges are politically accountable, they cannot perform this crucial function.

This report is the third in a series on different policies that could help mitigate the influence of corporate campaign cash in judicial elections. The reports are intended for advocates or legislators who want to ensure our justice system works for everyone, not just those with enough money to donate.

Read the report here. (CAP Action)

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org