CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Neera Tanden on the Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act’s Fourth Anniversary

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Four years ago today, President Barack Obama signed into law the Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act, which helps female and minority workers challenge discriminatory pay in the courts. CAP President and CEO Neera Tanden issued the following statement marking the legislation’s fourth anniversary:

The Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act was a significant step forward in eliminating the gender pay gap. As we celebrate the enactment of this landmark legislation four years ago, we must remember the inexcusable reality that women continue to earn only about 77 percent of what men earn. It’s past time that we act to redress this injustice. We urge Congress and the president to waste no time and enact fair pay reforms as soon as possible.

To speak with a CAP expert on this topic, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org.

Related resources:

###

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org