CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

RELEASE: New CAP Report Shows Full Climate Picture of Exporting LNG

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Tom Caiazza
Phone: 202.481.7141
Email: tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — With the recent expansion of shale gas development, the United States is poised to become a net exporter of natural gas. Last week saw two major regulatory authorizations regarding liquefied natural gas, or LNG, exports—one from the Department of Energy and one from the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, or FERC—which has renewed the debate about whether increased LNG exports should be prevented or encouraged. In particular, the effect that LNG exports would have on global emissions has been in dispute.

In a report released today by the Center for American Progress, titled “The Climate Implications of U.S. Liquefied Natural Gas, or LNG, Exports,” Gwynne Taraska and Darryl Banks argue that while increased LNG exports could theoretically benefit the climate, the conditions are formidable.

“It is true that LNG exports could partially displace the use of coal overseas, which would decrease CO2 emissions from power plant operations,” said Taraska, a Senior Policy Advisor at CAP and the research director of the Institute for Philosophy and Public Policy at George Mason University. “However, there are other aspects of an increased exports scenario, such as emissions from the liquefaction process and methane emissions that could work to offset the benefit of coal-to-gas switching. Moreover, there is a danger that increased exports could lock in the use of fossil fuels and pose long-term harm to the climate.”

The report recommends that at least these three conditions would be necessary for LNG exports to be defensible from a climate perspective:

  • Methane emissions are strictly controlled domestically and overseas
  • The exported LNG displaces coal or prevents new use of coal
  • The exported LNG does not displace low-carbon power sources or impede growth in the use of low-carbon power sources

Click here to read the report.

For more information or to speak to an expert on this topic, contact Tom Caiazza at tcaiazza@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7141.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org