CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

U.S. Foreign Assistance and the Arab Spring: Bold, but Not Bold Enough

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

President Barack Obama’s May 19th speech was an important and long overdue departure from previous U.S. policy towards the Middle East. After months of struggling to keep up with events on the ground, President Obama finally presented some core priorities to help guide the nation’s response to the Arab Spring. Speaking to the diplomatic corps from the 7th floor of the U.S. State Department — the symbolism of his surroundings was lost on no one — the President’s message was clear: to adapt to a new reality, U.S. policy toward the region will undergo a major shift.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Huffington Post.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org