CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: The House Promotes Low-Carbon Technology Exports

Statement by Winnie Stachelberg, Senior Vice President for External Affairs for the Center for American Progress

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

“I commend the work of the House Appropriations Committee earlier today in promoting the export of green American technology. Chairwoman Lowey and Reps. Israel and Schiff have done the country a great service by demonstrating the positive role that the federal government can play in guiding America and the world toward a low-carbon energy future. Their requirement that the Export-Import Bank dedicate no less than 10 percent of its financing to low-carbon technology projects could result in an estimated $1 billion in additional green exports in 2008. This is the kind of commonsense solution to our energy and climate crisis that the American people have been looking for, and it is one that we at the Center for American Progress have strongly supported for the past year.”

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi (immigration, race and ethnicity)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org