CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Why the Fair Pay Act Isn’t Enough

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The first bill President Obama signed was the Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act, which provides women and minorities with critical tools to challenge discriminatory pay practices. In overturning a misguided Supreme Court opinion limiting pay equity suits, the act marks an important step forward but, by itself, it is unlikely to close the wage gap between men and women. Why? Because pay discrimination is only a part of the problem.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org