CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

Open Sources, Open Minds Can Bring Government Innovation

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

We see innovation in action every day in our lives. Whether it’s listening to music on a cell phone, or taking the latest medication to help tackle an ailment, our lives are better and easier as a result of innovative products and services. Plus, innovation is not just about improving technology—Starbucks has transformed the experience of drinking coffee, and Walmart has altered the face of retailing beyond recognition.

Most of us think innovation only occurs in the private sector. That’s hardly surprising since private-sector innovation accounts for more than 85 percent of the United States’ growth in productivity, according to Nathan Rosenberg, a professor of economics at Stanford University.

But innovation is needed just as much in the public sector as we struggle to find solutions to both new and old problems.

Read the full article here.


Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Public Manager.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org