CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day

THE LATEST

Gainful Employment and For-Profit Colleges

The effectiveness and approach of for-profit colleges is being questioned, explains author David A. Bergeron.

Friday, October 31, 2014

The Growth of Women of Color in the Electorate

Women of color are a key voting bloc with the potential to affect elections and public policy, writes Maya Harris.

Thursday, October 30, 2014

The Racially Discriminatory Effects of Provisional Ballots

In 16 states, voters in counties with a higher percentage of minorities cast provisional ballots at higher rates.

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

The Great Recession and Public Colleges

Public investment in higher education is vital to the performance of our economy, explain the authors.

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

The Role of Anchor Institutions in Community Revitalization

The federal government has a vested interest in exploring strategies that harness anchors’ power to increase community revitalization and economic growth, explains Tracey Ross.

Monday, October 27, 2014

Immigration Facts

The CAP Immigration Team provides a rundown of everything you need to know about our foreign-born population.

Thursday, October 23, 2014

The Unequal Mortgage Market

Massive disparities persist in the housing market and the economy based on the color of one’s skin, explains Michela Zonta.

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Testing in the United States

States and school districts are far from the goal of better, fairer, and fewer tests, explains Melissa Lazarín.

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

U.S.-Egypt Relations

Egypt continues to face a long list of challenges, explain the authors.

Monday, October 20, 2014

Gun Violence in Washington State

There are many facets of gun violence in Washington state that stand out as exception, unusual, or above the national average, explain Chelsea Parsons and Lauren Speigel.

Friday, October 17, 2014

Seafood Fraud

Shiva Polefka and Michael Conathan explore how to get crime out of the seafood supply chain.

Tuesday, October 14, 2014

American Spaceflight

The United States must strengthen its space program and regain control of exploration beyond Earth, explain the authors.

Thursday, October 9, 2014

Financial Reform in China

Deeper structural changes are needed to reform China’s financial system, explains Adam Hersh.

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

The Pygmalion Effect

Research makes clear the importance of high teacher expectations for all students, the authors explain.

Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Executive Action on Immigration

Executive action on immigration would bring tangible benefits to the nation, explains Philip Wolgin.

Monday, October 6, 2014

More