CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day

THE LATEST

Gun Violence in Washington State

There are many facets of gun violence in Washington state that stand out as exception, unusual, or above the national average, explain Chelsea Parsons and Lauren Speigel.

Friday, October 17, 2014

Seafood Fraud

Shiva Polefka and Michael Conathan explore how to get crime out of the seafood supply chain.

Tuesday, October 14, 2014

American Spaceflight

The United States must strengthen its space program and regain control of exploration beyond Earth, explain the authors.

Thursday, October 9, 2014

Financial Reform in China

Deeper structural changes are needed to reform China’s financial system, explains Adam Hersh.

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

The Pygmalion Effect

Research makes clear the importance of high teacher expectations for all students, the authors explain.

Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Executive Action on Immigration

Executive action on immigration would bring tangible benefits to the nation, explains Philip Wolgin.

Monday, October 6, 2014

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau’s proposal to release consumers’ complaints adds additional transparency to the financial system.

Friday, October 3, 2014

Shortsighted Spending Cuts

Harry Stein and Hilary Gelfond explain why austerity is so out of hand.

Thursday, October 2, 2014

The Research-based Practices Behind the Common Core

The Common Core State Standards will lead to improved student learning, explains Max Marchitello and Megan Wilhelm.

Wednesday, October 1, 2014

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi

Aarthi Gunasekaran and Vikram Singh discuss the meeting between newly elected Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and President Barack Obama.

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Corporate Inversions

Alexandra Thornton explains what Americans need to know when it comes to corporate inversions.

Monday, September 29, 2014

The Efforts to Improve K-12 Education

While the Common Core State Standards have become increasingly contentious, research shows support for the Common Core’s principles remains high.

Friday, September 26, 2014

Out Of Touch Institutional Voices

Pop culture now has the tools to take racial insensitivity to task, says Sam Fulwood III.

Thursday, September 25, 2014

Improving Our Tax Code

Despite the political gridlock over taxes, there are actually many areas on which both sides agree, explain the authors.

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Controlling Climate Change and Expanding Job Opportunities

Effectively mitigating climate change requires identifying exactly how the United States will transform its energy economy to attain international goals to help protect our climate.

Friday, September 19, 2014

More