CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day

THE LATEST

Syrian Refugee Crisis

Shiva Pedram explains why the he Middle Eastern countries currently sheltering Syrian refugees need international support.

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Florida’s Immigration Turnaround

Zach Fields writes on Florida’s changing demographics and their effects on immigration policy.

Monday, August 18, 2014

The Shangri-La Dialogue

The annual Singapore-based Asia-Pacific security summit, traditionally a convivial affair, is becoming more candid and sharp elbowed—and that’s a good thing.

Friday, August 15, 2014

Skewed Perspective in the Media

A hashtag campaign confronts the racial biases in the images we see of black Americans.

Thursday, August 14, 2014

The Koch Brothers and Nonpartisan State Supreme Court Races

Groups in Washington want to protect state legislatures’ agendas from legal challenges.

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Central American Children Fleeing Violence

Violent conditions are causing tens of thousands of children and families from Central America to take refuge in the United States and neighboring countries.

Tuesday, August 12, 2014

Expanding the Pacific Remote Islands Marine National Monument

President Obama must act boldly to preserve one of the planet’s last unspoiled ocean ecosystems.

Friday, August 8, 2014

Children Fleeing Central America Need Legal Counsel

The United States should provide legal representation for Central American child refugees, many of who have legitimate claims for relief.

Thursday, August 7, 2014

Liquefied Natural Gas Exports

Increased LNG exports could theoretically result in a net benefit for the climate.

Wednesday, August 6, 2014

Despite Stable Recovery, Wages Have Yet to Budge

The U.S. labor market faces long-term quality and quantity problems

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

The Toll of Offshoring Work

Reshoring tax incentives can ease the wage and employment pressures

Monday, August 4, 2014

The Kurdish Peace Process in Context

The United States must rethink its policy toward Kurdish political groups.

Friday, August 1, 2014

Millennials Aren’t Saving for Retirement

Millennials are saving less for retirement than older generations.

Thursday, July 31, 2014

Economic Opportunity Improvments

Successful anti-poverty solutions should be coordinated in a way that meets the needs of families and should build upon lessons learned from successful programs across the country.

Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Powder River Basin Coal Leasing

The federal coal-leasing program in the Powder River Basin is costing taxpayers billions of dollars.

Tuesday, July 29, 2014

More