CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Carmel Martin on Gov. Jindal’s Attempt to Drop the Common Core Standards

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington D.C. – Center for American Progress Executive Vice President for Policy Carmel Martin released the following statement reacting to the news that Louisiana Gov. Bobby Jindal (R) issued executive orders to withdraw from the Common Core State Standards:

Gov. Jindal’s unilateral attempt to drop the Common Core State Standards is another result of Tea Party tactics focused on political gain at the expense of student achievement. Students in Louisiana today score among the lowest in the nation. Gov. Jindal once supported the standards because he knew that they would help make sure kids in his state were able to receive the same educational opportunities as students across the nation. Today, he decided to act alone in direct opposition to Louisiana’s legislature, the state superintendent, and state board of education. His sudden change of heart is especially disappointing given the backing from a broad bipartisan coalition of teachers, parents, the civil rights community, business organizations, and military leaders.

To speak with an expert on this topic, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org