CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Carol M. Browner, Michael Conathan on Obama Administration’s Expected Announcement to Expand Pacific Marine Monument

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Chelsea Kiene
Phone: 202.478.5328
Email: ckiene@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — The Barack Obama administration is expected to announce today its intent to dramatically expand the size of the Pacific Remote Islands Marine National Monument. Ahead of the administration’s announcement, Carol M. Browner, Distinguished Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress and a member of the Global Oceans Commission, issued the following statement:

Our oceans are feeling the strain of human activity from increased acidification, overfishing, and pollution, and we need to take bold action to protect this vital natural resource. This action from President Obama will vastly expand the protected waters and preserve this delicate ecosystem for future generations and will set a standard of preservation for other nations to follow.

Michael Conathan, Director of Ocean Policy at the Center for American Progress, issued the following statement:

These tiny, remote Pacific islands and atolls were some of the last places on the planet to feel the pressure and weight of human feet. Today’s anticipated bold action by President Obama will minimize the future impact of the footprint of human activity on some of the world’s most pristine and resilient ocean ecosystems.

The monument, first established by President George W. Bush in 2008, currently encompasses the ocean out to about 50 miles from the shores of small, uninhabited U.S. territories in the south Pacific, including Wake Island; Howland and Baker Islands; Johnston and Kingman Atolls; and Kingman Reef. President Obama’s expected proposal would push the boundaries out to the full 200-mile extent of the U.S. exclusive economic zone. The action will increase the monument’s size by roughly a factor of 10 and more than double the total amount of the world’s oceans contained in protected areas.

For more information or to speak to an expert on this topic, contact Chelsea Kiene at ckiene@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org