CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Carmel Martin on the 60th Anniversary of Brown v. Board of Education

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington D.C. — Saturday, May 17,  marks the 60th anniversary of the landmark Supreme Court decision that forever changed the face of our country’s public education—Brown v. Board of Education. Carmel Martin, Executive Vice President for Policy at the Center for American Progress released the following statement marking the anniversary:

Sixty years ago, the Supreme Court put America on the path to provide an equal chance for all students regardless of race or background to receive a high-quality education. Since then, we have made significant strides, but inequities are still stark, particularly in low-income and minority communities, where schools are denied much-needed resources, and access to rigorous coursework is often the exception not the rule. As we pause to remember this landmark decision we must remind ourselves that the fight to ensure equal access to high-quality education for all is far from over. Providing equitable funding for all students and ensuring our  standards are aligned with what students need to be successful in college and career are critical to moving us in the right direction.

Related resources:

To speak with a CAP education expert, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

 

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org