CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: David Madland on Gov. O’Malley Establishing a Task Force to Ensure Retirement Security

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington D.C. — Today, David Madland, Managing Director for Economic Policy, released the following statement responding to the news that Maryland Gov. Martin O’Malley (D) will establish a task force to examine how the state can improve retirement security for all private-sector employees:

Gov. O’Malley took an important first step to ensure that all Marylanders are able to have a secure and dignified retirement. Too many households are currently at risk of not having sufficient savings to last them through retirement. While Congress continues to dither on retirement policy, Maryland joins a few leading states that are taking action to help address the retirement needs of its citizens.
To speak with a CAP expert on this topic, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org