CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Carmel Martin on the Supreme Court’s Decision to Uphold Michigan’s Affirmative Action Ban

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – Today, in response to the Supreme Court’s decision to uphold Michigan’s ban on affirmative action, Carmel Martin, Executive Vice President for Policy at the Center for American Progress, issued the following statement:

Today’s ruling is disappointing because it limits the tools that Michigan’s public universities have at their disposal to pursue diversity on campus. States need to have the flexibility to develop policies that address racial inequality and ensure that our next generation of leaders reflects our country’s rich diversity. This decision is not good for universities, students, or our economy, which benefits from a diverse, educated workforce.

To speak with CAP experts on this issue, please contact Madeline Meth at mmeth@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6277.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org