CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Carmel Martin on New Polling Showing Voter Support for Common Core

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, Carmel Martin, Executive Vice President for Policy at the Center for American Progress, released the following statement reacting to new public opinion research commissioned by Achieve that shows broad voter support for the Common Core State Standards:

The message is clear: There is overwhelming support for the Common Core State Standards, which better prepare students for college and a successful career. The particular strong support among communities of color and women shows that the standards offer an unprecedented opportunity for all children regardless of family income, gender, race, or zip code. Implementation in states should continue to move forward, however, translating standards into effective instruction is hard work, and teachers, parents, students, and administrators will continue to need substantial support for this transition.

Related resources:

To speak with a CAP education expert, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org