CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Neera Tanden on the Administration’s Executive Action to Raise the Minimum Wage for New Federal Workers

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — In advance of the State of the Union address this evening, the Obama administration announced this morning that President Barack Obama will take executive action to raise the minimum wage to $10.10 per hour for new federal contract workers. Center for American Progress President Neera Tanden released the following reaction:

Raising the minimum wage for federal contract employees shows strong leadership from the president in expanding opportunity for more Americans to move up the economic ladder. It will put more money in the pockets of hardworking Americans, who will spend it in their communities and help drive our economic growth. We hope that Congress follows the president’s lead by raising the minimum wage for everyone to $10.10 and in doing so begins to rebuild an economy that works for all.

To speak with a CAP expert on this topic, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org