CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Neera Tanden on House and Senate Bills to Expand Access to Early Education

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – Center for American Progress President Neera Tanden issued the following statement today reacting to the Senate HELP Committee and House Committee on Education and the Workforce introducing legislation to dramatically expand access to preschool:

Expanding access to early education is an important building block for spurring America’s long-term economic growth, meeting the needs of women and working families, and ensuring today’s children are prepared to compete in tomorrow’s workforce. The legislation introduced today provides a vision for preschool that includes qualified teachers and classrooms designed to enrich children’s learning and prepare them for school. I applaud Sen. Tom Harkin (D-IA), Rep. George Miller (D-CA), and Rep. Richard Hanna (R-NY) for taking this important step toward increasing access to high-quality preschool.

Additional resources on early education from CAP:

To speak with an expert on this topic, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org