CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Neera Tanden on the Nomination of Janet Yellen as Fed Chairwoman

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, Neera Tanden, President and CEO of the Center for American Progress, issued the following statement on President Barack Obama’s nomination of Janet Yellen to chair the Federal Reserve:

Janet Yellen’s long history of experience with central banking makes her an excellent choice to lead the Federal Reserve. Her exceptional ability to understand how policies impact our country’s financial performance will be key to ensuring that America continues down a path toward full economic recovery. And as the first woman to run the Fed, Janet is breaking yet another glass ceiling in an arena full of gender barriers. Because of her leadership, determination, and courage, more little girls around the world can dream of someday running economies.

Related posts from ThinkProgress:

To speak with an expert, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org