CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP Experts on the Census Bureau’s 2012 Poverty, Income, and Health Data

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, the U.S. Census Bureau released the 2012 poverty, income, and health data in the Current Population Survey, and CAP experts issued the following statements:

Neera Tanden, President and CEO of the Center for American Progress:

Today’s data underscore that it is time for Congress to pivot from a focus on austerity to an agenda emphasizing jobs and shared economic growth. Three years into the recovery, the share of families in poverty remains unchanged, median household incomes have not improved, and high levels of income inequality remain locked in place highlighting the urgency of investments in jobs and policies to boost wages.

I am heartened to see last year’s gains in health coverage holding steady thanks to the Affordable Care Act—today there are more insured Americans, which means better access to care, better preventive care, and lower costs for all Americans.

Melissa Boteach, Director, Poverty and Prosperity Program at the Center for American Progress:

Today’s data illustrate the folly of the cuts conservatives are trying to exact as they push the nation toward a government shutdown. At a time of elevated rates of child poverty, Congress is seeking to make further cuts to programs such as education, Head Start, and affordable housing. With nutrition assistance keeping 4 million people out of poverty in 2012, it is unconscionable that conservatives are spending this week threatening to cut vital food aid. With more than one in three Americans living in low-income households, conservative proposals to cut job-training programs that provide greater pathways to the middle class are dumbfounding.

These data should be a wake-up call that it is time to reset the national debate to focus on jobs and investments in family economic security.

To speak with CAP experts on this issue, please contact Madeline Meth at mmeth@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6277.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org