CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Daniel J. Weiss on President Obama’s Budget Proposal to End Tax Breaks for Oil and Gas Companies

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — In response to the news that President Barack Obama’s budget proposal includes ending special tax breaks for oil and gas companies, Daniel J. Weiss, Senior Fellow and Director of Climate Strategy at the Center for American Progress, released the following statement:

By eliminating nearly $40 billion in unnecessary special tax breaks for Big Oil over the next 10 years, President Obama’s proposed budget makes the tax code more fair while investing additional revenue to support the middle class. Meanwhile, the Republican-controlled House continues to ignore the needs of Americans by passing Rep. Paul Ryan’s (R-WI) budget, which would pour $20 billion in new tax breaks into Big Oil’s already full revenue barrel while draining funding from vital health programs and investments in economic growth.

To speak with Daniel J. Weiss, please contact Anne Shoup at 202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org