CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP President and CEO Neera Tanden on International Women’s Day

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — To mark the 104th International Women’s Day, Center for American Progress President and CEO Neera Tanden issued the following statement:

Today’s International Women’s Day is different from last year’s. Like last year, we’ll celebrate women’s accomplishments today and reflect on how we can make gender equality a reality. But unlike last year, the moment to push for progress won’t be over by tomorrow. That’s because during the last few weeks and months, leaders have emerged who want to talk about eliminating structural barriers that undermine women in the workplace and empowering women into leadership roles. And people are listening. Americans aren’t sitting idly by, comfortable with the fact that less than 60 percent of workers are eligible for paid family leave; that the United States remains the only wealthy developed country not to guarantee paid maternity leave; and that the United States ranks 55th—behind Pakistan and Uganda—in female political representation.

Today is only a jumping-off point. We need to continue the conversation about changing our culture and taking bold policy action until gender equality in the workplace is a reality.

In honor of International Women’s Day, the Center released a number of resources that celebrate the accomplishments of women worldwide, illustrate the challenges that women still face, and suggest that by addressing women’s issues, we can simultaneously confront broader challenges:

For more information, visit our International Women’s Day page here.

To speak with CAP experts on these issues, please contact Madeline Meth at mmeth@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6277.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org