CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP President Neera Tanden on the Passage of the Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today Neera Tanden, President of the Center for American Progress, responded to the passage of the Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act of 2013 by a 286:138 vote with the following statement:

Today’s passage of this long-overdue measure is a crucial step forward in protecting women from domestic violence and sexual assault. The bill means that vital law-enforcement and support services—such as shelters and legal support—will be made available to victims. I am pleased that the House rejected attempts by some Republicans to strip critical protections for LGBT and Native American victims of domestic violence and instead chose to pass the bipartisan Senate bill, which will now be signed into law by President Barack Obama. This legislation will make a real difference in the lives of millions of women by providing them with critical new tools to help them escape abusive situations.

Related resources:

To speak with CAP experts, please contact Madeline Meth at mmeth@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6277.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org