CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Cynthia G. Brown on the Department of Education’s Equity and Excellence Commission’s Final Report

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Cynthia G. Brown, Vice President for Education Policy at the Center for American Progress, issued the following reaction to the Department of Education’s Equity and Excellence Commission’s final report, presented today to Education Secretary Arne Duncan:

The Equity and Excellence Commission’s report reflects the collective wisdom of many of the brightest minds in education. It gives a clear assessment of the failures of our education system to provide an equal educational opportunity to every child. And it provides significant, concrete recommendations for how to build, redesign, and hold accountable a system that will provide all children with the education they need and deserve. This must begin with an equitable funding system in which schools receive resources based on student needs instead of town or state wealth, in addition to great teachers and preschool opportunities for all.

I join my fellow commissioners today in calling on the secretary, Congress, states, and districts to take the report’s recommendations seriously. Too many reports of this kind have come before, only to be ignored or overlooked. We must act on the recommendations in this report and take the necessary steps toward a brighter future for our children and, by extension, our country. They can’t afford to wait any longer.

To speak with Cynthia Brown, please contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org