CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Housing Expert Julia Gordon on Tonight’s State of the Union Address

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — In reaction to President Barack Obama’s State of the Union address tonight, Julia Gordon, Director of Housing Finance and Policy at the Center for American Progress, released the following statement:

We welcome President Obama’s comments regarding the importance of assisting homeowners, particularly his support for programs to enable more homeowners to refinance their homes. Allowing more underwater homeowners to refinance their mortgages at today’s low rates will support the housing recovery, provide much-needed financial relief to strapped homeowners, and boost consumer demand, simultaneously strengthening the middle class and stimulating economic growth.

Furthermore, we agree with the president that mortgage regulations governing lenders and securitizers should line up with each other to avoid constraining access to affordable credit.

Finally, we fully support the call to rebuild hard-hit neighborhoods, a task that will require the cooperation and participation of mortgage investors, municipalities, financial institutions, and regulators. Effective loan modifications, particularly principal reduction, can prevent home vacancies altogether, but in situations where that is not possible, short sales or long-term lease arrangements can help limit the damage to communities.

To speak with an expert on this topic, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

Related resources:

###

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org