CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Arkadi Gerney on the Democratic Gun Violence Prevention Task Force Proposals

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — In reaction to the 15 proposals released by the House Democratic Gun Violence Prevention Task Force, Arkadi Gerney, Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress, released the following statement:

We applaud the House Democrats for joining President Barack Obama in putting forward a comprehensive and common-sense plan to combat gun violence. The House task force plan addresses the two most important challenges we face: keeping military-grade weapons off the streets; and keeping all guns out of the hands of felons, domestic abusers, and the seriously mentally ill. We urge the House and Senate Republican leadership to also come to the table with a plan to help prevent gun violence because that’s what the American people expect and deserve.

See also: Preventing Gun Violence in Our Nation

To speak with an expert on this topic, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org