CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP Immigration Policy Director Marshall Fitz on Today’s Immigration Meeting at the White House

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Crystal Patterson
Phone: 202.478.6350
Email: cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Marshall Fitz, Director of Immigration Policy at the Center for American Progress, released the following statement today after meeting with President Barack Obama at the White House to discuss immigration reform:

Our meeting with the president was productive and energized. The president reiterated to us that enacting common-sense immigration reform is at the top of his legislative priorities for the first six months of the year, and he expressed confidence that we can get across the finish line.

The stakeholders in the room were in strong alignment with the president on strategy and substance. We share a sense of urgency with the president and a belief that the legislative process needs to move forward quickly. Likewise, we agree that a clear road to citizenship, one unobstructed by unnecessary obstacles and uncertainty, is at the heart of lasting, meaningful reform. The president has laid out a timeline and shown his commitment to making reform a reality, and now it’s time for the Senate working group to keep the momentum going on the Hill.

The Center for American Progress is grateful for the president’s laser-like focus on fixing the broken system, leveling the playing field for all workers and employers, and building the middle class. His deep personal commitment was evident in the meeting and we have never been more optimistic about the prospects for legislation.

To speak with Marshall Fitz, please contact Crystal Patterson at 202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org