CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP Senior Fellow Christian Weller on Today’s GDP Report

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Dr. Christian E. Weller, Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress, had the following reaction today to the announcement of the third quarter GDP numbers:

The strengthening economy evidenced by today’s GDP release is impressive, considering the strong global headwinds we face from slowing growth in China and India to an austerity-damaged Europe. That we are in a recovery at all—much less one this strong—is due in no small part to smart progressive policies put in place by President Barack Obama such as investments in manufacturing, infrastructure, education, and tax cuts targeted to the middle class.

To speak with Dr. Weller, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

###

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org