CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Christian Weller on Today’s GDP Numbers

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – Today, Christian Weller, Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress, had the following reaction to the announcement of the first-quarter U.S. gross domestic product numbers:

Today’s numbers on economic growth illustrate poignantly that we are on the right path, but that there is still a lot of work to be done. Strengthening our economy should be a top priority and that requires supporting America’s middle class and investing in our crumbling infrastructure. The worst thing we could do right now is to slash vital programs for those who need them most to shower even more tax giveaways on those who need them the least.

To speak with Christian Weller, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org