CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Krehely on How the Affordable Care Act Helps Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Americans

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Christina DiPasquale
Phone: 202.481.8181
Email: cdipasquale@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – Today, as we near the anniversary of the Affordable Care Act, Jeff Krehely, vice president for LGBT research and communications at the Center for American Progress, issued the following statement:

The Affordable Care Act is one of the greatest opportunities we have ever had to begin to close the LGBT health disparities gap. Thanks to the health care reform law, LGBT Americans across the country will soon be able to access insurance coverage and comprehensive health care services through the expansion of Medicaid and the sale of affordable private insurance through state-based Health Insurance Exchanges that are prohibited from discriminating on the basis of sexual orientation or gender identity.

Studies such as the Institute of Medicine’s 2011 report on LGBT health and CAP’s “How to Close the LGBT Health Disparities Gap” demonstrate that many other aspects of health care reform are also of vital importance to the health of LGBT communities. These include promoting prevention and wellness, supporting community health centers, and advancing cultural competency training for health care providers. The Affordable Care Act is also key to efforts to recognize the increasing diversity of America’s families and to improve data collection to better identify and address the full range of LGBT health disparities.

See also:

To speak with Jeff Krehely or Kellan Baker, LGBT Health Policy Analyst at the Center for American Progress, please contact Christina DiPasquale at 202.481.8181 or cdipasquale@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org