CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: September’s Tepid Job Growth Highlights Urgency of Job Creation Policies

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C.—Today, Adam Hersh, Economist at the Center for American Progress, had the following reaction to the announcement of September’s unemployment figures:

Let’s hope today’s still weak jobs numbers finally prod Washington to take action. Adjusting the jobs numbers for the 45,000 striking Verizon workers returning to work last month, September marked another month of tepid employment growth amid political obstructionism, state and local government retrenchments, and mounting global economic risks. Hints of silver linings in leading indicators such as temporary hiring and work hours are scant.

The economy needs short-run fiscal demand and job creation policies, and it needs them now. Yet at every step, the right policy choices are being held hostage to political demands for more tax privileges for America’s wealthiest and for dismantling economically important social safety nets.

Inaction today jeopardizes U.S. national economic competitiveness and undermines opportunities for America’s middle class–the other 99 percent at the core of our sustainable economic development.

To speak to Hersh about the monthly jobs report, contact Katie Peters at kpeters1@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6286
 

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org