CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Economic Experts on Taxing Millionaires to Pay for the American Jobs Act

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, at a press conference to discuss plans for advancing the American Jobs Act, Senate Democratic leaders proposed a 5 percent surtax on those earning $1 million a year as a new way to pay for President Barack Obama’s plan.

The Center for American Progress’s Michael Ettlinger, Michael Linden, and Seth Hanlon issued the following statement regarding this announcement:

The Center for American Progress has long advocated for the idea of imposing higher taxes on millionaires who make up less than 1 percent of taxpayers. As a percentage of their incomes, millionaires are now paying about one-quarter less of their income to federal taxes than they did in the mid-1990s. Millionaires paid an average tax rate of 22.4 percent in 2009, down by a quarter since 1995, when they paid an average of 30.4 percent. Asking these wealthy individuals to contribute their fair share is a sensible solution to fund the American Jobs Act and put millions of Americans back to work.

The following CAP experts will be available for comment:

  • Michael Ettlinger, Vice President for Economic Policy at the Center for American Progress
  • Michael Linden, Director, Tax and Budget Policy at the Center for American Progress
  • Seth Hanlon, Director of Fiscal Policy, Doing What Works

To speak with CAP experts, please contact Katie Peters at 202.741.6285 or kpeters1@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org