CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

CAP Article in AMA Journal Calls for Expansion of Cost-Savings Medicare Program

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Tom Caiazza
Phone: 202.481.7141
Email: tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — In an article published in JAMA Internal Medicine, Center for American Progress Senior Fellow Ezekiel Emanuel and Health Policy Director Maura Calsyn urge the secretary of Health and Human Services to expand a successful pilot program that changed how Medicare paid for certain common orthopedic and cardiac procedures such as knee and hip replacements. The paper outlines several ways that the secretary could expand the program under existing authority, without requiring additional legislation.

Medicare’s Acute Care Episode, or ACE, demonstration bundled payments for 37 common inpatient cardiac and orthopedic procedures at five hospitals. Bundled payments are an alternative to traditional fee-for-service payments that involve making one payment for an entire episode of care. In the ACE demonstration, the bundled payments led to improved coordination between hospitals and physicians and motivated hospitals to negotiate lower prices, without a negative effect on patient care. Overall, the ACE demonstration saved Medicare $319 per episode of care for a total of about $4 million in net savings.

“Enacting payment reform is critical to transforming the delivery system,” said Emanuel. “The results on the ACE demonstration project involving cardiac and orthopedic procedures demonstrates that bundled payments can lead to both lower cost and high-quality care. We urge the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and other payers to adopt—and expand—these bundles as a critical step toward delivery system reform. It would be good for patients and for controlling costs and improving quality.”

Click here to read the article.

For more information on this topic, contact Tom Caiazza at 202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org.

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org