CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

RELEASE: Nobel Laureate Tawakkol Karman and CAP Chair John Podesta Call for Youth Panel on Post-2015 Development Agenda

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Chelsea Kiene
Phone: 202.478.5328
Email: ckiene@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, as youth activists from around the world gather at the U.N. headquarters in New York to celebrate International Youth Day, Nobel Peace Prize laureate Tawakkol Karman and Center for American Progress Chair John Podesta—both of whom served on the U.N. High-Level Panel on the Post-2015 Development Agenda—released a letter they sent earlier this month to Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon advocating for the creation of a Youth High-Level Panel to help inform the post-2015 process.

“It will fall to today’s youth to build the more equitable, just, sustainable, and peaceful world the High-Level Panel envisions in its report,” Podesta said. “We need to welcome young people into the process of creating the post-2015 development agenda and take their perspective seriously.”

The idea was raised during a Google+ Hangout held by Podesta and Karman last month. While the High-Level Panel process involved hundreds of consultations with youth leaders and activists around the world, creating a formal Youth High-Level Panel would provide another avenue for young people to get involved in crafting an ambitious global agenda to follow the expiration of the Millennium Development Goals at the end of 2015.

“I want to congratulate the youth during their International Youth Day. The youth are today’s and tomorrow’s agents of change. Their contributions, inclusion, and participation at all levels of processes are crucial in order for us to make meaningful change in our world,” said Karman. “Youth will play an important role in engaging and educating their fellow and global citizens about the post-2015 development agenda, and to make it a success for the betterment of our world.”

Read Podesta and Karman’s letter to Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon.

Learn more about CAP’s work on the post-2015 development agenda.

To speak to an expert on this topic, contact Chelsea Kiene at ckiene@americanprogress.org or 202.478.5328.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org