CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

RELEASE: Clean Energy Manufacturing Fights Climate Change, Increases U.S. Competitiveness, and Creates Jobs

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – In the wake of President Barack Obama’s speech on Tuesday laying out his action plan to address the harmful effects of climate change, the Center for American Progress released a report today showing how clean energy manufacturing hubs can flight climate change, increase U.S. competitiveness, and create jobs.

Throughout our country’s history, a strong manufacturing industry has helped propel the United States to the cutting edge of global competitiveness. Recent years, however, have seen a dramatic decline in domestic manufacturing.

Policies that currently bolster the domestic production of clean energy goods can help renew the manufacturing industry while creating well-paying jobs and fostering a low-carbon economy that is “made in America.” Because domestic and international demand for clean energy goods is rising at such a rapid rate, focusing on clean energy manufacturing instead of doubling down on the industries of yesterday will give the United States an advantage in a growing market.”

“Supporting domestic clean energy manufacturing with strong, forward-looking policies will revitalize the U.S. economy, fight climate change, and help create good, local jobs,” said Kate Gordon, Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress. “If the United States is going to compete in the 21st century global marketplace, it must make smart investments in competitive clean energy industries and send a clear signal that America is an attractive place to do business.”

The report offers the following recommendations for Congress:

  • Authorize $2 billion in funding for the National Network for Manufacturing Innovation and should focus several of the program’s Institutes for Manufacturing Innovation on clean energy projects.
  • Reauthorize the successful advanced manufacturing tax credit, which provides a 30 percent investment tax credit in manufacturing facilities for clean energy products, for a 5-year to 10-year period with a clear sunset path and totaling $5 billion in new funding.
  • Enact a progressive carbon tax that generates demand for clean energy products while fighting climate change.

Read the report: Clean Energy Manufacturing Fights Climate Change, Increases U.S. Competitiveness, and Creates Jobs by Adam James and Kate Gordon

To speak with a CAP expert, please contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7146.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org