CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Gun Violence Prevention Expert Arkadi Gerney on Tonight’s State of the Union Address

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — In response to President Barack Obama’s State of the Union address tonight, CAP Senior Fellow Arkadi Gerney issued the following statement on efforts to prevent gun violence:

Tonight President Obama was joined by former Rep. Gabby Giffords (D-AZ) and more than 30 other survivors of gun violence and family members of victims of gun violence. They stood with the president in common cause to keep guns out of the hands of criminals and keep military-style weapons off our streets. They also stood for the Americans who cannot stand because they are among the 11,000 murdered with guns each year. The president challenged Congress to act. It’s time for Congress to meet that challenge.

To speak with an expert on this topic, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

Related resources:

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org