CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

RELEASE: Immigrants Are Makers, Not Takers

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Crystal Patterson
Phone: 202.478.6350
Email: cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, as the immigration debate continues on Capitol Hill, the Center for American Progress released “Immigrants Are Makers, Not Takers” to outline how immigrants contribute more to the U.S. economy than they cost in public benefits. Immigration opponents continue to incorrectly insist that immigrants are a drag on the economy, a stereotype that is contradicted by the evidence.

This column and the accompanying charts make the case for how immigrants help create economic gains in GDP, tax revenue, and the Social Security Trust Fund, and are a net positive to the economy overall. They also explain how two oft-cited reports from the Heritage Foundation and the Center for Immigration Studies, or CIS, incorrectly claim that immigrants are an economic drag. The column walks through how Heritage and the Center for Immigration Studies get the analysis wrong, and explains how immigrants help boost the economy.

Read the full column here.

To speak with CAP experts on this topic, please contact Crystal Patterson at 202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (Oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (Immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org