CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

Available for Comment: Ian Millhiser on 11th Circuit Decision on Individual Mandate

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C.—CAP Policy Analyst and Blogger Ian Millhiser will be available for comments on the 11th Circuit Court of Appeal’s 2-1 decision to strike down the individual mandate in the Affordable Care Act. The following is a quote from Ian Millhiser about today’s opinion:

“What today’s opinion lacks in fidelity to the Constitution it makes up for in page length. Nevertheless, there is absolutely nothing in the Eleventh Circuit’s divided ruling striking down part of the Affordable Care Act that makes me the least bit concerned about health reform’s fate before the Supreme Court. The Supreme Court held almost 200 years ago that Congress may regulate the buying of selling of health care – or any other marketplace – however it chooses so long as it does not violate a limit “prescribed in the Constitution.” Today’s opinion cites no limit because there is none. I am confident that the Supreme Court will not abandon 200 years of precedent and that the Affordable Care Act will be upheld.”

To speak with CAP experts about this issue, please contact Raúl Arce-Contreras at rarcecontreras@americanprogress.org or 202.478.5318.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org