CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

CAP National Security Experts Available for Comment on State of the Union Address

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

"Domestic policy priorities like the economy and health care will understandably take up more of President Barack Obama’s time in the second year, but he must also stay on top of a tough list of national security questions, too, such as Afghanistan, Iran, and the continued threats from Al Qaeda. We are encouraged by his remarks in the State of the Union address that he intends to do just this. In the first year, President Obama set a new tone of engagement with the world and took important steps in how America is perceived around the world. The second year will have to show some return on that investment of engagement—Americans and the world will be looking for tangible results from this new foreign policy approach."

Brian Katulis, Lawrence Korb, and Caroline Wadhams are all available for comment. To speak with them, please contact Suzi Emmerling at semmerling@americanprogress.org or 202-344-0404.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org