CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

CAP Immigration Experts Available for Comment on President Obama’s State of the Union Address

Statement from Angela M. Kelley, Vice President for Immigration Policy and Advocacy

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

"President Obama promised comprehensive immigration reform during the 2008 election cycle. His commitment was a key factor in rallying Latino and other immigrant voters who were crucial in the president’s election. Tonight, the president said Congress should pass comprehensive immigration reform. We don’t doubt that the President sees the wisdom of passing a reform package that would help American workers, businesses and taxpayers by adding $1.5 trillion over 10 years to the GDP, generate over $4.5 billion in additional tax revenue, and support at least 700,000 jobs within the first three years, but he and Congress needs to do more than talk the talk. To borrow a phrase from President Kennedy, this is not a time for the faint-hearted. The American voters of all political stripes demand that Washington solve problems, including the broken immigration system. The administration and leaders of both parties cannot afford to take a pass on immigration reform that helps the economy and that is a bipartisan issue. Lawmakers would be wise to not play politics but to deliver a smart solution."

Angela Kelley, VP for Immigration Policy and Advocacy and Marshall Fitz, Director of Immigration Policy at American Progress are both available for comment. For Spanish language press, Louis Caldera and Vanessa Cardenas are available for comment.

Please contact Suzi Emmerling at semmerling@americanprogress.org or 202-344-0404 to speak with them.

###

 

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org