CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

NEW REPORT: A Memo to the 44th President on China

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Read the full report  (pdf)

Download the brief (pdf)

Washington, DC –The Center for American Progress release today a report entitled A Global Imperative: A Progressive Approach to U.S.-China Relations in the 21st Century, authoredby Nina Hachigian, Michael Schiffer, Winny Chen. The report argues that though we have serious policy differences with China, the urgency of our shared challenges, most particularly on the need for dramatic reductions in global carbon emissions, does not allow time for posturing that ultimately fails to deliver. Without a serious commitment by the United States and China, we will not be able to avoid the dire consequences of climate change.

The report, written in the form of a memo to the next President, recognizes that the complexity of U.S.-China relations will require coordination and prioritization within the U.S. government—a critical and daunting task. A commitment to regularized presidential-level meetings between the United States and China are necessary both to further strategic dialogue and consensus between our two nations, and to facilitate decisions on pressing issues that demand resolution. Given the array of issues at play in the relationship, we need coordinated policy making—in digestible portions—that addresses the multiplicity of political, security, and economic issues.

The Center for American Progress recommends the next administration concentrate on six policy priorities in U.S.-China relations:

  • Climate change and energy security
  • Balanced and sustainable global growth
  • Enhanced security in the Asia-Pacific region
  • China’s military modernization
  • Stability in the Taiwan Strait
  • Governance and individual rights

Read the full report (pdf)

Download the brief (pdf)

If you are interested in speaking with report authors, please contact Allison Price, aprice@americanprogress.org

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org