CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Neera Tanden on Harris v. Quinn Decision

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Chelsea Kiene
Phone: 202.478.5328
Email: ckiene@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, in response to the Supreme Court’s decision in Harris v. Quinn, which held that partial public employees cannot be required to pay union bargaining fees, Center for American Progress President Neera Tanden issued the following statement:

Today’s Harris v. Quinn decision is the latest Roberts Court attack on important protections for hard-working Americans that sides with wealthy special interests in weakening worker protections. This decision may be limited to those who the Supreme Court deems not fully public-sector workers, but it is clear the Court is willing to wield the First Amendment as a weapon to hurt workers. The Harris v. Quinn decision is a blow to working families; at a time when wages are stagnant, weakening worker protections is the exact opposite of what we should be doing. Today’s decision will strengthen our resolve to ensure that middle-class families have a strong voice for good jobs and workplace protections.

For more information or to speak to an expert, contact Chelsea Kiene at ckiene@americanprogress.org or 202.478.5328.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org