CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: CAP to Host Japanese Ambassador for Presentation and Discussion of Evolving Relationship between United States and Japan

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Tom Caiazza
Phone: 202.481.7141
Email: tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — As the two leading democratic economies in the world, the United States and Japan share a close alliance in areas ranging from security and trade to technology and the arts. But after six decades of peaceful economic rise in the region, recent changes in the economic and security environment of East Asia have pushed this alliance in a new direction.

On Monday, June 30, the Center for American Progress will host Japanese Ambassador to the United States Kenichiro Sasae for a presentation on the changing relationship between the United States and Japan and their shared economic and security goals. The event will also include a discussion between the ambassador and CAP Senior Fellow Glen S. Fukushima.

Who:

Introduction:
Neera Tanden, President, Center for American Progress

Speaker:
Kenichiro Sasae, Japanese Ambassador to the United States

Moderator:
Glen S. Fukushima, Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress

When:

Monday, June 30, 2014
3:00 p.m. ET – 4:00 p.m. ET

Where:

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, D.C., 20005

Map & directions

Nearest Metro: Blue/Orange Line to McPherson Square or Red Line to Metro Center

RSVP:

RSVP for this event.

For more information on this topic, contact Tom Caiazza at 202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org.

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org