CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Cecilia Munoz to Discuss How Promise Zones Can Help Revitalize High-Poverty Communities

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – On Tuesday, May 20 the Center for American Progress will host White House Domestic Policy Council Director Cecilia Munoz and a panel of leaders from some of the Administration’s first Promise Zones to discuss revitalizing high-poverty communities.

Earlier this year, the Obama administration laid out an initiative to designate a number of high-poverty communities as Promise Zones, where the federal government will partner with and invest in communities to create jobs, leverage private investment, increase economic activity, expand educational opportunities, and improve public safety. Currently, the draft second round application is open for public comment.

A new CAP report that provides an overview of the federal government’s role in place-based initiatives, initial observations from the launch of Promise Zones, and recommendations for strengthening the effort moving forward will be released at the event.

WHO:

Welcoming remarks:
Carmel Martin, Executive Vice President, Policy, Center for American Progress

Featured speaker:
Cecilia Muñoz, Director, White House Domestic Policy Council

Panelists:
Andrew Frishkoff, Executive Director, LISC Philadelphia
Michael McAfee, Senior Director at PolicyLink and Director of the Promise Neighborhoods Institute at PolicyLink
Sara-Jane Smallwood, Public Policy and Research Analyst, Choctaw Nation, Oklahoma
Ivy Taylor, Councilperson, District 2, San Antonio

Moderated by:
Tracey Ross, Senior Policy Analyst, Center for American Progress

WHEN:
May 20, 2014, 10:00am ET – 11:30am ET
Coffee will be served at 9:30 a.m.

WHERE:
Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, DC 20005

RSVP to attend this event

For more information, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org