CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: How Pension Funds and Unions Can Help Modernize American Infrastructure

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington D.C. – The infrastructure that American citizens and businesses rely on needs to be upgraded and revitalized, from the roads, bridges, and ports that bring goods to market to the many water systems that provide safe and sanitary drinking water to millions of homes. Pension funds offer a source of capital that can help rebuild these essential assets in exchange for predictable returns that will provide Americans with a safe retirement. Please join the Center for American Progress for introductory remarks by Ed Smith, president and chief executive officer of Ullico Inc., and a panel discussion on the challenges and benefits of infrastructure investments for pension funds.

As part of this event, the Center for American Progress will release findings from a report on the challenges that pension funds face when investing in infrastructure and the federal policies that can encourage additional investment, as well as an issue brief on the intersection of organized labor and infrastructure investment.

WHO:

Introductory remarks:
Ed Smith, President and Chief Executive Officer, Ullico Inc.

Distinguished panelists:
Sonia M. Axter, Managing Director, Infrastructure Investments, Ullico Investment Company
Larry Beeferman, Project Director, Pensions & Capital Stewardship Project, Harvard Law School
Brian Clarke, Executive Director, Industry Funds Management, LLC
Dan Pedrotty, Co-Director, Center for Workers’ Benefits and Capital Strategies, American Federation of Teachers

Moderated by:
Roy Kienitz, former Under Secretary for Policy, U.S. Department of Transportation

WHEN:

March 28, 2013
10:00am ET – 11:30am ET
Coffee will be served at 9:30 a.m.

WHERE:

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, DC 20005

RSVP to attend this event

For more information, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org